NC Courage Announce 2023 Pre-Season Roster

Photo by Follow Greg Sports
In a press release and in social media today, the North Carolina Courage today announced their 2023 preseason roster leading into the 2023 National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) season.

A total of 30 players have been selected by the Courage on the active roster for the 2023 preseason camp. Just over half of the preseason roster consists of returning players at 17, while the other 13 consists of four newly acquired players, the four 2023 NWSL College draft picks, and five non-roster invitees.

The returning players from last season are Malia Berkely, Tess Boade, Marisa Bova, Millie Farrow, Emily Gray, Kaleigh Kurtz, Casey Murphy, Kerolin Nicoli, Denise O’Sullivan, Kiki Pickett, Brianna Pinto, Brittany Ratcliffe, Katelyn Rowland, Meredith Speck, and Frankie Tagliaferri.

International Players

Mille Gejl Jensen
Photo courtesy of North Carolina Football Club
While the Courage have six international slots coming into the 2023 preseason, they are only utilizing four international player slots. In the press release, the NC Courage noted they may utilize the other spots prior to the 2023 season kicking off. The non-roster invitee, midfielder Jennifer Cudjoe would utilize an international spot as a native of Ghana.

Also of note, the Courage press release noted Danish forward Mille Gejl has not yet joined the team for preseason training. She will join the team once her visa application is approved.

The other current international players’ slots are being utilized for Brazillian forward Kerolin Nicoli, English forward Millie Farrow and Danish forward Rikke Madsen.

2023 North Carolina Courage Preseason Roster

Goalkeepers (3)

Casey Murphy
Photo by Follow Greg Sports
Marisa Bova, Casey Murphy, Katelyn Rowland

Defenders (10)

Malia Berkely, Sarah Clark (NRI), Sydney Collins (DRAFT), Estelle Johnson, Emily Fox, Kaleigh Kurtz, Kiki Pickett, Nikia Smith (NRI), Croix Soto (NRI), Ryan Williams.

Midfielders (8)

Brianna Pinto
Photo by Follow Greg Sports
Elianna Beard (NRI), Jennifer Cudjoe (NRI), Emily Gray, Denise O’Sullivan, Brianna Pinto, Clara Robbins (DRAFT), Meredith Speck, Frankie Tagliaferri.

Forwards (9)

Tess Boade, Millie Farrow (INT), Mille Gejl Jensen (INT), Haley Hopkins (DRAFT), Tyler Lussi, Rikke Madsen (INT), Kerolin Nicoli (INT), Brittany Ratcliffe, Olivia Wingate (DRAFT).

DRAFT: Players selected in the 2023 NWSL Draft but have not yet signed a contract
INT: International Slot
NRI: Non-Roster Invitee

Forward Tess Boade, who played locally at Duke Univesity is recovering from shoulder surgery but is with the team.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2023 Courage Country - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy